Being Featured on Wattpad

It feels good having my story featured on Wattpad. I’m getting some great feedback and people seem to like the story. My views have jumped quite a bit and it’s only been a couple days. I can’t imagine what they may be when all is said and done.

I’ll only be at the top of the featured list for a couple weeks. Then I’m not sure how far down I drop and for how long. They asked that I not remove my story for at least six months, so hopefully that’s how long I’ll be featured too.

I think publishing on Wattpad can only help getting your story exposure, especially since it’s tracked and displayed. Plus, you can get some great critiques and improve your story while you gain readership in your characters. Also, publishing on Wattpad does not count as first rights. And if you do end up getting picked up, most publishers these days use Wattpad as a tool for sales, it’s a win/win.

We even carry titles published on Wattpad in our library collection at my work. Like Blaze (or Love in the Time of Supervillians) by Laurie Boyle Crompton. I first saw that story on Wattpad and read it through. A lot of it was cut out after paper publication, but it still climbed to over 2 millions views and it was first posted on Wattpad three years ago.

So you’re probably wondering how to get your story published on Wattpad. Don’t worry, it’s simple. Just have a complete story and have at least all of of posted to Wattpad. As long as the grammar is sound and it is readable, you will get featured. I think the only stipulation is that it can’t be a rant book, or quote book. It has to be a fleshed out story from beginning to end.

I submitted Valterra a few months ago when I had almost completely posted all its chapters. It took 2 or 3 weeks for them to get back to me and let me know the exact date, which was a couple months away. Yep, it was that easy! So now I’m still critiquing and editing when I can. My weekly freelance work is still a priority though because of the money, and I’ve been practicing the piano more recently, gearing up for a recording sessions with my husband’s progressive grunge band, Help (the picture is from one of many a band practice).

So yes, I should have had my manuscript finished by now, but there is still much that can be added. I need to read through and make notes and make sure there are no plot holes. Plus I have been learning about writing dialogue and think I could rework some of my heavier talking scenes. But it’s the process. Each time it will be easier because I’ll know so much more before I begin writing book two.

If you want to check out my story, I would love some honest feedback!

https://embed.wattpad.com/story/49692752

Leave a Reply

